(1999) JELR 43800 (CA)    

Court of Appeal  ·  CA/A/EPLG/5/99 ·  1 Mar 1999 ·  Nigeria
Other Citations
ANAZODO v. AUDU (1999) 4 NWLR (Pt.600)530
Anazodo v. Audu (1999) 4 NWLR (Pt. 600) 530
DAHIRU MUSDAPHER Justice of The Court of Appeal of Nigeria MUHAMMAD SAIFULLAHI MUNTAKA-COOMASSIE Justice of The Court of Appeal of Nigeria ZAINAB ADAMU BULKACHUWA Justice of The Court of Appeal of Nigeria
Core Terms Beta
1st respondent
presiding officers
corrupt practices
election petition
learned counsel
said election
abuja municipal area council
result of the election
electoral officer
first respondent
form cf003
lead judgment
name of the 1st respondent
2nd respondent
cleared candidate
court of appeal
esther john audu of pdp
leading judgment
mere fact
notice of appeal
returning officer
4th respondent
appellant read
area councils
case of the appellant
conduct of the case
correct view
distribution of sachets of salt
earlier presentation of alfred ozoemena
election of the 1st respondent
evidence of p.w.5
evidential value of exhibits p
following grounds
independent national electoral commission
issue of corrupt practices
local government election tribunal
mere production of exhibits pi3
none of exhibits p1-p12 show
numerous allegations of undue return
petition vivian ndigwe anazodo
provisions of the local government
reasonable person hold
similar issues
successful candidate
third issue
vivian ndigwe anazodo of app
written address of counsel

MUSDAPHER, J.C.A. (Delivering the Leading Judgment): Pursuant to the provisions of the Local Government (Basic Constitutional and Transitional Provisions) Decree, No. 36 of 1998. the Independent National Electoral Commission (hereinafter referred to as INEC) conducted elections into the Local Governments and Area Councils throughout the Federation. The elections were conducted on the 5th day of December, 1998. In the Abuja Municipal Area Council the result of the election as announced by the 4th respondent on the 6th of December, 1998 showed the votes scored by each of the candidates for the chairmanship of the council as follows:-

1. Vivian Ndigwe Anazodo of APP, 11,126 votes

2. Esther John Audu of PDP, 20,380 votes

3. Stephen I. Omodogbe of AD, 3,493 votes

4. Mohammed A. Dili of MDJ. 6,899 votes

5. Abubakar Suleiman of NSM, 1,324 votes

6. Edith A. Argom of UPP, 853 votes.

Esther John Audu of PDP was returned elected as the Chairman of the Abuja Municipal Area Council. Vivian Ndigw…

There's more. Sign in to continue reading. is the comprehensive database of case law and legislation from Ghana, Kenya and Nigeria. Gain seamless access to over 20,000 cases, recent judgments, statutes, and rules of court.

Get started   Login