(2009) JELR 39735 (CA)    

Court of Appeal  ·  CA/E/EPT/65/2008 ·  25 Jun 2009 ·  Nigeria
AMIRU SANUSI Justice of The Court of Appeal of Nigeria STANLEY SHENKO ALAGOA Justice of The Court of Appeal of Nigeria OLUKAYODE ARIWOOLA Justice of The Court of Appeal of Nigeria
Core Terms Beta
1st respondent
notice of appeal
grounds of appeal
court of appeal
winner of the election
anambra state house of assembly
ballot papers
court of appeal rules
form ec8a1
lower tribunal
polling booths
record of appeal
wrong decision
2nd june
4th respondent
voters register
14th day of april
1st respondent joseph isiagu
bereyin v. gbobo
evidence of pw2
hon. justice a.g. kwajafa
part of the petitioner
polling station
result sheet
agents of the peoples democratic party
briefs of argument
date of the purported election
end of the election
exhibit r149
following grounds
following reaction
hon. ossy t. chinwuba
judgment of the national assembly
leading judgment
lower election tribunal
momoh international ltd v. romain
mr. joseph isiagu of the pdp
mr. mike okoye counsel
notice of preliminary objection
nwlr para
reply brief of the appellant
return of the 1st respondent
said result sheets
said return
specific part of the petitioners case

STANLEY SHENKO ALAGOA, J.C.A, (Delivering the Leading Judgment): This is an appeal against the judgment of the National Assembly/Governorship and. Legislative Houses Election Petition Tribunal Anambra State holden at Awka in Petition No. EPT/AN/SAE/28/2007 between Hon. Ossy T. Chinwuba as Petitioner and Joseph Isiagu and Ors as Respondents delivered on the 2nd June 2008 - Coram Hon. Joseph J.S. Abiriyi (Chairman), Hon. Justice A.G. Kwajafa (Member); Hon. Justice D.T. Okuwobi (Member); Hon. Justice B.A. Georgewill (Member) and Hon. Justice A.M. Lamido (Member). The election complained of in the Petition was into the Anambra East Constituency of the Anambra State House of Assembly held on the 14th day of April 2007 between Hon. Theophilus C. Chinwuba of the PPA, Mr. Joseph Isiagu of the PDP and other candidates of 'APGA, ANPP, AC, ADC, SPN and NDP. At the end of the election, the 1st Respondent Joseph Isiagu was declared winner having scored the highest number of votes. Dissatisfied wit…

There's more. Sign in to continue reading. is the comprehensive database of case law and legislation from Ghana, Kenya and Nigeria. Gain seamless access to over 20,000 cases, recent judgments, statutes, and rules of court.

Get started   Login