(2021) JELR 109169 (SC)    
Supreme Court  ·  SC.448/2021 ·  28 Jul 2021 ·  Nigeria
Mary Ukaego Peter-Odili, JSC John Inyang Okoro, JSC Ejembi Eko, JSC Mohammed Lawal Garba, JSC Ibrahim Mohammed Musa Saulawa, JSC Tijjani Abubakar, JSC Emmanuel Akomaye Agim, JSC
Core Terms Beta
4th respondents
2nd respondent
1st respondent
political party
electoral act
national chairman
constitution of the federal republic of nigeria
governor mai mala buni
candidates of the 2nd respondent
court of appeal
exhibit p
office of governor
provisions of the electoral act
provisions of this act
notice of appeal
3rd respondent
acting national chairman
member of the political party
office of governor of yobe state
said election
substantive issue
winner of the election
1st appellant
4th respondents' names
candidate of the 2nd appellant
candidate of the political party
chief executive officer of the respondent
corpus christi
decisions of the national convention
deputy governor
directives of the national executive committee
election petition no. ept
extraordinary convention committee
general election of governor of ondo state
iv of their petition
judgment of the court of appeal
local government areas of ondo state
national chairman of a political party
national officers of the 2nd respondent
offices of governor
ondo state governorship election tribunal
particular state
results of the election show
said election of governor of ondo state
sole act of sponsorship
sponsored candidates

EMMANUEL AKOMAYE AGIM, J.S.C. (Delivering the Leading Judgment): The general election of Governor of Ondo State was held on 10-10-2020. The 1st appellant contested the election as candidate of the 2nd appellant for the office of Governor. The 3rd and 4th respondents contested the election as candidates of the 2nd respondent for the offices of Governor and Deputy Governor respectively. The 2nd, 3rd and 4th respondents scored the majority of the lawful votes cast at the election and having been duly elected as prescribed in S. 179(2) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 (1999 Constitution) was declared and returned as winner of the election by the 1st respondent. The results of the election show that the appellants won the election in 3 of the 18 Local Government areas of Ondo State. The 2nd, 3rd and 4th won the election in the remaining 15 Local Government Areas.

The appellants herein did not agree with the result of the election declared by the 1st respondent.

On …

There's more. Sign in to continue reading. is the comprehensive database of case law and legislation from Ghana, Kenya and Nigeria. Gain seamless access to over 20,000 cases, recent judgments, statutes, and rules of court.

Get started   Login